Project Archaeology State Program

New Mexico

Events in New Mexico
Jun
20
Sun
Voices of the Ancients: Archaeology and Oral Tradition In-Person NEH Workshop @ Southern Utah University
Jun 20 – Jun 25 all-day
Voices of the Ancients: Archaeology and Oral Tradition In-Person NEH Workshop @ Southern Utah University

In-Person NEH Workshop
Voices of the Ancients: Archaeology and Oral Tradition

Applications are now being accepted for the Summer 2021 in-person Southern Utah University workshop. There are 36 spots available in each session for this workshop. Applications are due Monday, March 1, 2021 by 5 p.m. Workshop applications are available here.

This one week in-person workshop has two sessions. The first session will start on Sunday, June 20 and end on Friday, June 25, 2021. The second session will start on Sunday, July 11 and end on Friday July 16, 2021. Participants will learn how to hear the voices of the past by engaging with artifacts, living descendants, and the magnificent landscape of southwestern Utah!

This workshop is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)!

Any K – 12 educators are encouraged to apply. Many concepts within the curriculum can be taught across all grade levels.

If you have questions about the workshop, please contact workshop coordinator Samantha Kirkley (samanthakirkley@suu.edu).

Shop Curriculum for New Mexico
ACTIVE

Jane Childress
BLM Las Cruces Field Office
1800 Marquess Street
Las Cruces, NM 88005-3371
Jane_Childress@blm.gov

Mollie Toll
mollie.toll@state.nm.us

Eric Blinman
eric.blinman@state.nm.us

Laura Hronec
BLM New Mexico State Office
lhronec@blm.gov

Michael Perry
Farmington Municipal Schools
mperry@fms.k12.nm.us

John Turrietta
Rio Rancho Public Schools
john.turrietta@rrps.net

Help Project Archaeology Save the World

Thank you for supporting our work to develop culturally relevant curricula, instilling cultural understanding, honoring past and present people, preserving archaeological sites through education. Every donation helps us connect people through our shared past.